BHS Announces National Merit Honorees

BHS Announces National Merit Honorees
Posted on 10/21/2016

Boerne High School principal Natalie Farber announced this week that Ryan Rice has been named a National Merit Semi-Finalist and that Blake Barton, Johnathan D'Spain, and Taylor Teague have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP).

In addition to the National Merit-recognized students, Mrs. Farber announced that students Austin Elguea and Emily Williams have been selected as 2016-17 National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) Scholars.

Several thousand Semi-Finalists and Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. These student placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The NHRP was initiated in 1983 to identify outstanding Hispanic/Latino high school students. This year, the NHRP is recognizing nearly 5,300 students selected from a pool of over 250,000 who took the 2014 PSAT/NMSQT/PAA and identified themselves as Hispanic/Latino. Students recognized by the NHRP are at least one-quarter Hispanic/Latino (based on the program's definition) and have achieved a minimum PSAT/NMSQT score for their region. Students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher are designated as Scholars, and those with GPAs of 3.0 to 3.49 are designated as Honorable Mentions.

BHS Announces National Merit Honorees

National Merit honorees include (from left) Johnathan D'Spain, Emily Williams, principal Natalie Farber, Blake Barton, Taylor Teague and Ryan Rice.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.